APLN at Jeju Forum 2021: Sustainable Peace and Inclusive Prosperity
Past Events

APLN at Jeju Forum 2021: Sustainable Peace and Inclusive Prosperity

APLN and Jeju Peace Institute’s Special Online Sessions at Jeju Forum 2021

On 24 and 25 June, the annual Jeju Forum for Peace and Prosperity 2021 was held focused on the theme of “Sustainable Peace and Inclusive Prosperity.” APLN co-hosted five special sessions for Jeju Forum 2021 offering an Asia-Pacific lens on emerging technologies, US-China relations, managing the nexus of existential risks, and the DPRK nuclear quagmire. The panels featured APLN members, senior experts, and international officials including UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs Izumi Nakamitsu, China expert Professor Graham Allison, retired major general of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army, Yao Yunzhu, among others.

Session 1. The China-US Strategic Rivalry and Consequences for the Asia Pacific Region

  • Chung-in Moon, Vice Chair of APLN and Chair of Sejong Institute (Moderator)
  • Graham Allison, Douglas Dillon Professor of Government, Harvard Kennedy School
  • Yao Yunzhu, Academic Committee Member of the Center for International Security and Strategy at Tsinghua University
  • Gareth Evans, Chair of APLN and Distinguished Honorary Professor of Australian National University
  • Sung-hwan Kim, Chair of East Asia Foundation

Session 2. Mitigating Existential Catastrophic Risks


  • Shata Shetty, APLN Executive Director (Moderator)
  • Peter Hayes, Director of Nautilus Institute, and APLN Research Director
  • Vivian Lin, Professor and Executive Associate Dean of the LKS Faculty of Medicine at The University of Hong Kong
  • Tuya Nyamosor, former Mongolian Foreign Minister

Session 3. Nuclear Hotlines and Risk Reduction: Past Experiences and Lessons from the Asia Pacific 


  • Tanya Ogilvie-White, APLN Senior Research Advisor (Moderator)
  • Chung-in Moon, APLN Vice-Chair and Chair of Sejong Institute
  • Peter Hayes, Director of Nautilus Institute and APLN Research Director
  • Philip Reiner, Chief Executive Director of the Institute for Science and Technology
  • Jishe Fan, Senior Fellow and Director for Global Governance and International Organizations Studies at the Institute for International Strategic Studies, Party School of the Central Committee of CPC

Session 4. The DPRK Nuclear Quagmire and the Biden Administration


  • Angela Kane, Senior Fellow at the Vienna Center for Disarmament and Non-proliferation and Former UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs (Moderator)
  • Frank Aum, Senior Expert on North Korea at the U.S. Institute of Peace
  • Dingli Shen, Professor and the Former Associate Dean at Fudan University’s Institute of International Studies
  • Bong-geun Jun, Professor at the Department of National Security and Unification Studies at the Institute of Foreign Affairs and National Security

Session 5. Assessing Emerging Technology Developments and the Impact on Nuclear Weapon Risks


  • Shata Shetty, APLN Executive Director (Moderator)
  • Namrata Goswami, Independent Scholar and Former Jennings-Randolph Senior Fellow at the United States Institute of Peace
  • Manpreet Sethi, Distinguished Fellow at the Centre for Air Power Studies, New Delhi
  • Tong Zhao, Senior Fellow at the Nuclear Policy Program of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Izumi Nakamitsu, UN Under-Secretary-General and High Representative for Disarmament Affairs

More details can be found here.