The Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (APLN) has over one hundred members from eighteen countries across Asia and the Pacific, consisting of former political, diplomatic and military leaders, senior government officials, and scholars and opinion leaders. APLN aims to inform and energize public opinion, especially high-level policymakers, to take seriously the very real threats posed by nuclear weapons, and to do everything possible to achieve a world in which they are contained, diminished and eventually eliminated.

Aotearoa New Zealand

  • Angela WOODWARD

    Angela WOODWARD

    Angela Woodward is Deputy Executive Director of the Verification Research, Training and Information Centre.

  • David PINE

    David PINE

    David Pine is a former High Commissioner of New Zealand to Malaysia and Brunei Darussalam. He is currently serving as a private advisor to a range of companies and individuals including San Miguel Corporation, KYS Aventura, ZICO Holdings and SourceWorld.

  • Dell HIGGIE

    Dell HIGGIE

    Dell Higgie is Ambassador and former Chargé d’Affaires at the New Zealand Embassy and Permanent Mission to the UN in Vienna. She was New Zealand’s global Ambassador for Disarmament, and Permanent Representative of New Zealand to the Conference on Disarmament.

  • Geoffrey PALMER

    Geoffrey PALMER

    Sir Geoffrey Winston Russell Palmer has served as the Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand. He was created a Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George in 1991.

  • Helen CLARK

    Helen CLARK

    Helen Clark was Prime Minister of New Zealand for three successive terms from 1999–2008. In July 2020, she was appointed by the Director-General of the World Health Organisation as a Co-Chair of the Independent Panel for Pandemic Preparedness and Response, called for by the World Health Assembly, which reported in May this year.

  • Jim BOLGER

    Jim BOLGER

    Jim Bolger has served as the former Prime Minister of New Zealand and Ambassador to the U.S.

  • John BORRIE

    John BORRIE

    John Borrie is Special Adviser on Disarmament at the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

  • Kate DEWES

    Kate DEWES

    Dr Kate Dewes is former Director of the Disarmament and Security Centre, former New Zealand expert on the UN Study on Disarmament and Non Proliferation Education and a former member of the UN Secretary General's Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters.

  • Kevin CLEMENTS

    Kevin CLEMENTS

    Professor Clements is Director of the Toda Peace Institute, and was the Foundation Chair of Peace and Conflict Studies and Director of the New Zealand Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies at the University of Otago, Dunedin New Zealand.

  • Nikki KAYE

    Nikki KAYE

    Nikki Kaye is former Deputy Leader of the National Party, former Cabinet Minister including former Minister of Education and former Member of the New Zealand Parliament.

  • Ruth DYSON

    Ruth DYSON

    Hon Ruth Dyson QSO was a Labour Member of Parliament from 1993 to 2020 before her retirement from that position.



    Tanya Ogilvie-White is Senior Research Adviser at APLN and non-resident senior fellow at Pacific Forum.