The Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (APLN) has over one hundred members from eighteen countries across Asia and the Pacific, consisting of former political, diplomatic and military leaders, senior government officials, and scholars and opinion leaders. APLN aims to inform and energize public opinion, especially high-level policymakers, to take seriously the very real threats posed by nuclear weapons, and to do everything possible to achieve a world in which they are contained, diminished and eventually eliminated.


  • ABE Nobuyasu

    ABE Nobuyasu

    Abe Nobuyasu is a former United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs and former Director-General for Arms Control and Science Affairs at the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

  • AKIYAMA Nobumasa

    AKIYAMA Nobumasa

    Dr. Nobumasa Akiyama, Professor at the School of International and Public Policy and the Graduate School of Law at Hitotsubashi University, is a member and a Senior Associate Fellow at APLN.

  • DODEN Aiko

    DODEN Aiko

    Doden Aiko is a Special Affairs Commentator with NHK World TV covering hard security to human security related issues.  She presents “NHK World Newsline InDepth” and feature interviews.  Aiko is a member of the International Institute for Strategic Studies, and is the Professor of Practice at SOAS, University of London.

  • FUJIWARA Kiichi

    FUJIWARA Kiichi

    Fujiwara Kiichi is a Professor of International Politics and Southeast Asian Studies in the Graduate Schools of Law and Politics at the University of Tokyo.

  • FUNABASHI Yoichi

    FUNABASHI Yoichi

    Funabashi Yoichi is a former journalist and editor-in-chief of the Asahi Shimbun, and a correspondent to Beijing and Washington DC. He has written extensively on foreign affairs, the US-Japan Alliance, economics and historical issues in the Asia Pacific.

  • IKEGAMI Masako

    IKEGAMI Masako

    Ikegami Masako is a Professor at the Department of Innovation Science, School of Environment & Society of Tokyo Institute of Technology.

  • INOGUCHI Kuniko

    INOGUCHI Kuniko

    Inoguchi Kuniko is a member of the House of Councillors of Japan and former Ambassador to the Conference on Disarmament. She also served as the President of the Conference on Disarmament in 2003.

  • INUZUKA Tadashi

    INUZUKA Tadashi

    Inuzuka Tadashi is the Co-President of World Federalist Movement - Institute for Global Polity and the Executive Director of Coalition for 3+3.

  • KAWAGUCHI Yoriko

    KAWAGUCHI Yoriko

    Kawaguchi Yoriko is a former Foreign Minister and Environment Minister of Japan and is now an Fellow Emerita at the Musashino Institute for Global Affairs, Musashino University in Tokyo. She also co-chaired the International Commission on Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament.

  • KAWASAKI Akira

    KAWASAKI Akira

    Kawasaki Akira is a member of the Executive Committee of Peace Boat and sitting President and International Steering Group member of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).

  • KONO Yohei

    KONO Yohei

    Kono Yohei is a Japanese politician and a member of the Liberal Democratic Party. He served as Speaker of the House of Representatives from 2003 to 2009.

  • OKADA Katsuya

    OKADA Katsuya

    Okada Katsuya is a Diet member and a former Secretary General of the Democratic Party of Japan.

  • OTA Masakatsu

    OTA Masakatsu

    Ota Masakatsu is a Senior and Editorial writer at Kyodo News, Visiting Professor of Waseda University and Nagasaki University, and Regular Commentator of Sunday Station of the TV Asahi.

  • SANO Toshio

    SANO Toshio

    Sano Toshio is the Vice Chairman of the Japan Atomic Energy Commission, Cabinet Office, the Government of Japan(2017-2023).

  • SARUTA Sayo

    SARUTA Sayo

    Sayo Saruta is the Director of the New Diplomacy Initiative (ND), a think tank in Tokyo, and an Attorney at Law in Japan and the State of New York.

  • SHIOMURA Ayaka

    SHIOMURA Ayaka

    Ayaka Shiomura is a Member of the House of Councillors and former member of the Tokyo Metropolitan Assembly.

  • SUZUKI Tatsujiro

    SUZUKI Tatsujiro

    Suzuki Tatsujiro is the former Vice Chairman of the Japan Atomic Energy Commission and is currently a member of the Executive Committee and Council of Pugwash Conferences on Science and International Affairs.

  • TOSAKI Hirofumi

    TOSAKI Hirofumi

    Dr. Hirofumi Tosaki is Director for the Center for Disarmament, Science and Technology (CDAST) at the Japan Institute of International Affairs (JIIA).

  • UMEBAYASHI Hiromichi

    UMEBAYASHI Hiromichi

    Umebayashi Hiromichi was former Director of the Research Center for Nuclear Weapons Abolition at Nagasaki University. He is also Special Advisor, the former President and Founder of Peace Depot Inc., Japan.

  • YOSHIDA Fumihiko

    YOSHIDA Fumihiko

    Fumihiko Yoshida is Director of Research Center for Nuclear Weapons Abolition, Nagasaki University (RECNA), Japan.

  • YUZAKI Hidehiko

    YUZAKI Hidehiko

    Yuzaki Hidehiko is the governor of the Hiroshima Prefecture in Japan and a long-time champion of eliminating nuclear weapons.